Inner Light

When I am feeling low, blue or downright depressed I’ve found some simple solutions that work like magic. Listening to music is something I can do almost anywhere. While music only makes me feel better temporarily, it keeps me from bleeding out.

Exercise is another way to clear my mind. The mind is precisely my problem to begin with. Thinking about where I am in life compared to where I wish I was causes the majority of my angst. I find content in yoga each week when I am reminded to enjoy the present moment. Deep breathing is another key tool I use to get through the day.

It sounds silly but one of the easiest ways to find some happiness is buying something you really want. Example: Today I bought some Aveda tinted lotion for my face. It isn’t quite concealer or even make-up. At nearly $30 for 1.7 fluid ounces (50 ml) I can’t really afford it but it is the only kind of “concealer” I’ve ever used. It’s easy to apply, stays on all day, doesn’t melt off my face, doesn’t stain my collar, and doesn’t leave an orange line on the side of my chin. There is no sense in applying half an inch of goo to your face that looks like a spray tan or cheep hosiery. In fact, if you are putting that much on your face you may have a problem. Inner-Light (Sandstone) breathes and evens my skin tone. Most importantly, it is a reward for the 3 hours of hard work I’ve done to buy it. When you buy something you want you don’t have to feel guilty about it because you deserve to enjoy simple pleasures. Of course, if you can feel that way without spending a dime that’s even better.

Other things that lift my spirit are watching movies on rainy days, talking with my family and having lunch with a few close friends. When I combine all these things and allow myself to feel some of the pain I always find my way back to the real me.

Leave a Reply

