Three Balls and a Banana

I have absolutely no reason for the name of this title. It has nothing to do with what I am writing about. It doesn’t make a whole lot of sense. But I thought you might read on based solely on curiosity. This week started out well. I’m fully immersed in saving every cent I can to ensure a smooth, successful (and hopefully permanent) transition to Boston. Work seems busy every day, but I like it that way. Whenever I’ve had a job where I’m required to sit around and do nothing I wonder why I’m being paid and wishing there was something to do.

I have to appologize. This is such a boring post I might have to scrap it. Also its been nearly two weeks since I posted. I really try to come up with things as often as possible, but there’s really not much happening. Maybe I could just make stuff up.

Anyway, I’ve been going to yoga on Tuesday mornings when I don’t work. It really is the best place I’ve ever taken yoga from. My first class a few years back I used muscles that I didn’t know I had. Class size is small too, which is great because you get a lot of attention from the instructor. It’s a two hour class and it goes by so fast. A lot of people think yoga is boring.I don’t really get that. It fills my spiritual side without making me feel like I’m worshiping something I can’t see. I have a serious issue with more traditional religious views. Not because I don’t believe in the possiblity of a higher power. And definitely not because I don’t believe there might be something more to life.

My perspective is this. Sometimes things happen we can’t explain. Both good and bad. There is positive and negative energy. I think this energy, karma, can bear some influence in life. That doesn’t mean good people always have good outcomes. It doesn’t mean bad people always get what’s coming. The way I see it, those that are generally good and try to make good decisions find life rewarding. People who hurt others, do only what is best for them and count their “good deeds” eventually alienate themselves from the rest of the world. Just as no position in yoga should be forced, no specific religion is without flexibility for interpretation. That is left up to the individual. I don’t know that anyone could have the exact same ideas in regard to what they believe. It is afterall a belief based on faith alone. Does God exist? And if he does, what does he look like? They say he made us in his image, but what exactly is that? Is he talking about our personality? Our bodies? Maybe both? Maybe I’m way off the mark altogether.

I’ve always been one to ask more questions. If theres a reason for something I want to know what that reason is. Perhaps you are content not knowing what God looks like. I don’t know. I don’t know you. If you are that’s something I don’t understand. I also wonder about Bibles, Torahs, Books of Mormon etc. indicating he will return at some point. We don’t know when, that’s something I think we can agree on. There are so many unanswered questions. Where they always unanswered? Did someone remove the answers because they didn’t like them? The variations found from one text to the next suggests that more than interpretation changed the words in the pages. I’ve actually found references in a particular Bible to magic, but not since. Call me crazy but some stuff just doesn’t add up. Incidentally, this same Bible was full of things I’d never read before. I was reading about a section stating that God would blind my enemies and turn out the lights ( I forget the exact words). It was during a storm and as I read on, the power went out all over. We lost power for three or four days. People were panicking all over and buying tons of food.

I’ll let you decide for yourself. That’s not the whole story. I might tell you the rest someday. I probably won’t. My point is I think spirituality should be an entirely individual choice. I don’t believe in converting religions just because you’re getting married. I think that children should be exposed to all spiritual beliefs and eventually make the choice they feel is best. I want to stress that having the support of others who share similar views is important. Without the support we cannot hope to reach higher thinking (not to mention we’d probably be very narrowminded).

I hope I haven’t been offensive to anyone. The entire topic is a little dangerous. Gotta go, movie night! And don’t make fun of me, we are watching Sense and Sensibility.

Leave a Reply

