Soundtrack

Wouldn’t it be great if you could play music constantly in the background of your life? There would be cues to let you know if something bad or startling was about to happen. I’ve frequently pondered this possibility and envied the position of actors. My soundtrack to life would have lots of mellow musicians. Not depressing songs just things that make you feel a little sad. Of course I say this while listening to Elliott Smith’s “New Disaster.”

No…I would have some very upbeat moments too. I often sing aloud at home and even quietly to myself at work. In this soundtrack I would dramatically belt out Taylor Swift’s “Love Story”, Dido’s “Life for Rent” or Evan and Jaron’s “Crazy for this Girl.” Of course, I would only do that in my apartment. The truth of how I felt after a bad break-up is best described in Pixie Lott’s “Broken Arrow.”

I would have really pissed off days where “Perfect” by Alanis Morissette would play over and over. But on the good days, there would be Norah Jones, The Goo Goo Dolls and Regina Spektor. Ahh…spell-check doesn’t seem to think Spektor is a legitimate word. Now it does, I’ve just added it to the dictionary.

Okay, I lied. I’ve been caught by some of the night managers singing very loud at work. Maybe when I wake up in the morning my life will be a musical…maybe it already is.

Leave a Reply

